How to connect ChatGPT, Claude or Cursor to a task board with MCP
By Andrei Finogeev, founder of Weft · Checked on
Pick a task manager that runs a hosted MCP server, add it to your AI assistant — from ChatGPT’s Plugin directory, Claude’s connectors, or Cursor’s MCP settings — and sign in once with OAuth. It takes about three minutes. After that the assistant can create, update and move tasks on your board when you ask. Most well-known task managers now have an official MCP server; they differ in which assistants list them, what their free plans allow, and what the AI is allowed to do.
Connect in three steps
- 01
Pick a task board with a hosted MCP server.
A hosted (remote) server is a URL your assistant connects to, so there is nothing to install. Every tool in the table below has one; it decides which assistants can reach your board and what the AI may change.
- 02
Add it to your assistant.
ChatGPT: open Plugins in the sidebar, search for the tool, and press Connect. Claude: Settings → Connectors — choose it from the directory, or add a custom connector with the server URL. Cursor: Settings → MCP, add the server URL, or use the vendor’s one-click install link.
- 03
Sign in once, then ask.
The assistant opens the tool’s sign-in page (OAuth) and remembers you after that. Then try: “Create a task to send the invoice on Friday and put it in Todo.”
Which task managers have an MCP server
From each vendor’s own documentation, checked on 14 October 2026. “Not stated” means the vendor does not say.
| Tool | Official hosted MCP server | AI can create and update tasks | ChatGPT | Claude | Cursor | Free plan can use it | Paid plans from |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Weft | Yes — letsweft.com/api/mcp, OAuth | Yes — 32 tools, including claiming a task, asking you a question and recording a decision | In the Plugin directory, every plan including Free | Custom connector | Yes, one-click install | Yes — 50 tasks and 200 AI calls a month | $7/seat a month, or $60/seat a year |
| Linear | Yes — mcp.linear.app/mcp, OAuth or API key; a read-only endpoint too | Yes — issues, projects, comments | Not in the Plugin directory; OpenAI’s own Linear connector is for search | In the connectors directory | Yes | Yes — MCP access on every plan | $10/user a month, billed yearly |
| Asana | Yes — mcp.asana.com/v2/mcp, OAuth | Yes — tasks, assignments, projects | Asana app in ChatGPT | In the connectors directory | Yes | Not stated | $10.99/user a month yearly, $13.49 monthly |
| Notion | Yes — mcp.notion.com/mcp, OAuth | Yes — read and write | OpenAI’s Notion app: search and read | In the connectors directory | Yes | Not stated | $10/member a month, billed yearly |
| Todoist | Yes — ai.todoist.net/mcp, OAuth | Yes — create, edit, complete | In the Plugin directory | In the connectors directory | Yes | Yes | $60/user a year |
| Jira | Yes — Atlassian Rovo MCP, mcp.atlassian.com/v2/mcp, OAuth | Yes — create, update, transition work items | Rovo MCP connector for ChatGPT | In the connectors directory | Yes | Not stated; Rovo needs a verified business domain | See Atlassian’s pricing |
| Trello | Yes — mcp.trello.com/v1, OAuth | Yes — boards, cards, moving cards | In the Plugin directory | In the connectors directory | Yes | Yes — every plan | $5/user a month yearly, $6 monthly |
| ClickUp | Yes — mcp.clickup.com/mcp, OAuth only | Yes — create and route tasks; no delete | Supported, per ClickUp | In the connectors directory | Yes | Yes — 100 calls a day per workspace | $9/user a month, billed yearly |
| monday.com | Yes — mcp.monday.com/mcp, OAuth or API token | Yes — reading and writing | monday.com app in ChatGPT | In the connectors directory | Yes | Yes — every plan | $9/seat a month, billed yearly |
| GitHub Issues | Yes — api.githubcopilot.com/mcp/, OAuth or token | Yes — issues and project items | Not covered by GitHub’s docs | Custom connector | Yes | Yes — every plan | $4/user a month (Team) |
| Plane | Yes — mcp.plane.so/http/mcp, OAuth or API key | Yes — work items, cycles | Custom connector | Custom connector | Yes | Not stated | $6/seat a month |
| Taskade | Yes — taskade.com/mcp, access token | Yes — projects, tasks | Not stated | Custom connector | Yes | Only through the local server | $10 a month (not per seat) |
- ChatGPT: published apps live in the Plugin directory. Adding your own MCP server URL (developer mode) is, per OpenAI, available on Business, Enterprise and Edu, and on Pro with read and fetch only.
- Claude: “In the connectors directory” means the tool is listed in Anthropic’s directory. A custom connector — any server URL — is added under Settings → Connectors on Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise.
- Motion (usemotion.com) has no official MCP server that we could find, only community-built ones. The “Motion” connector in Claude’s directory belongs to a different company.
- Prices are the vendors’ published list prices per seat in US dollars. Taxes and regional prices differ.
Which one to pick
- An engineering team that lives in issues, pull requests and cycles
- Linear or GitHub Issues.
- Docs first, tasks second
- Notion.
- Personal to-dos and habits
- Todoist.
- Enterprise programs with workflows, permissions and reporting
- Jira.
- Marketing or operations work on timelines
- Asana or monday.com.
- The simplest shared kanban
- Trello.
- A solo founder or a small team that wants the AI to run the board
- Weft. Its tools are built for an assistant doing the work, not only filing it: the assistant claims a task before starting so two assistants do not pick up the same one, reports progress while it works, asks you a question that waits in your Inbox when only you can decide, and records the decision. It works in ChatGPT on every plan, Free included.
Setting Weft up in a specific assistant: Connect ChatGPT to Weft · Connect Claude to Weft · Connect Claude Code to Weft · Connect Cursor to Weft · All 30+ clients.
Questions
What is an MCP server for a task board?
MCP (Model Context Protocol) is the open standard AI assistants use to call outside tools. A task board’s MCP server is the address your assistant connects to; through it the assistant can read your tasks and, if you allow it, create, update and move them.
Can I connect ChatGPT Free to a task board?
Through an app in ChatGPT’s Plugin directory, yes — Weft works on every ChatGPT plan, Free included. Adding your own MCP server URL in developer mode is, per OpenAI, only available on Business, Enterprise and Edu, and read-only on Pro.
Is it safe to give an AI write access to my board?
You sign in with OAuth, so the assistant never sees your password, and you can revoke it at any time. Some tools narrow what the AI may do: Linear offers a read-only endpoint, ClickUp’s server has no delete tools, and Weft lets you give each connected assistant full, write or read-only access and disconnect it with one click.
How long does it take to connect?
About three minutes: find the tool in your assistant, sign in, and ask for your first task.
Which task managers have no official MCP server?
Of the ones we checked on 14 October 2026, Motion (usemotion.com): only community-built servers exist.
Sources
Read on 14 October 2026.
- OpenAI — apps and developer mode in ChatGPT
- Linear — MCP server
- Linear — pricing
- Asana — MCP server
- Asana — pricing
- Notion — MCP
- Notion — pricing
- Todoist — connect to an AI assistant
- Todoist — pricing
- Atlassian — Rovo MCP server
- Trello — MCP
- Trello — pricing
- ClickUp — MCP server
- ClickUp — pricing
- monday.com — MCP
- monday.com — pricing
- GitHub — MCP server
- GitHub — pricing
- Plane — MCP server
- Plane — pricing
- Taskade — MCP server
- Taskade — pricing
- Claude — connectors directory
- Cursor — MCP directory