Motion alternative for AI agents: ChatGPT, Claude, MCP
A Motion alternative for people whose ChatGPT, Claude or Cursor does the work: an MCP task board, compared fairly with Motion's AI calendar.
Weft is the AI task manager for solo founders and small teams.
By Andrei Finogeev ·
If your AI client already does the thinking, a good Motion alternative is a task board that the AI can work directly over MCP. Weft is one: ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor or Codex signs in with OAuth, claims a task, asks you when it needs a decision, and closes the card with evidence. If what you want is software that books your tasks into free slots on your calendar, stay on Motion; Weft does not do that.
We make Weft. Facts about Motion come from its official pages (usemotion.com, its help center and API docs), checked on 3 November 2026. Facts about Todoist and ClickUp come from their official pages, checked on 27 October 2026.
What does Motion actually do?
Motion calls itself an AI-powered productivity and work management platform. Its centre is auto-scheduling: in Motion's words, "AI that arranges tasks on your calendar based on priority, deadlines, duration, and dependencies", and it re-plans when meetings or priorities change (Motion help: Concept: Auto-scheduling).
It connects to Google Calendar, Microsoft Outlook and iCloud Calendar with read and write access, so events flow both ways and scheduled tasks can show up in your external calendar (Motion help: Integration & Permissions).
Around that sit AI Chat, AI Projects & Tasks, AI Calendar & Meetings, AI Docs, Wiki & Notes, an AI Task Planner and an AI Writer. Business AI adds team capacity planning, dashboards, time tracking and permissions (Motion pricing).
Why do people look for a Motion alternative when they use ChatGPT or Claude?
The common reason is a mismatch in where the AI lives. Motion's AI is built in and metered in Motion credits. If you already pay for ChatGPT, Claude or Cursor and do your planning in that chat, you end up with two AIs that do not talk to each other.
Motion's credits are part of the plan: 7,500 per seat a month on Pro AI and 15,000 on Business AI. The pricing page says a single workflow, such as summarising a meeting or drafting an email, "typically costs around 5 credits", and extra credits are sold (Motion pricing).
The second reason is the type of work. Auto-scheduling is built around your hours. When an AI agent does part of the work itself (writes the code, drafts the post, runs the research), what you need to track is not a time slot but a state: who is on it, what it is waiting for, and what came out.
The third reason is price for small teams. Motion has no free plan, and its cheapest plan is $19 per seat a month billed yearly. That is fair for what it does, but it is a lot for a board an agent mostly updates.
Does Motion work with ChatGPT and Claude?
Not through an official MCP server, as far as Motion's own pages show. We checked usemotion.com, its llms.txt, the help center index (help llms.txt) and the API docs today, and found no MCP server and no ChatGPT or Claude connector. This matches what we found on 27 October.
What Motion does offer is a REST API. You create a key in Settings and pass it as an X-API-Key header (Motion API: Getting started). The base rate limit for individuals is 12 requests a minute; teams can request up to 120 (Motion API: Rate limits). Motion's help center points to Zapier or the API for tools it does not integrate natively (Motion: Integrations FAQ).
Community-built MCP servers that wrap Motion's API key exist on third-party sites. Motion's own pages do not mention them. One more trap: the "Motion" connector in Claude's directory is made by Motion Creative Analytics (motionapp.com), a different company (claude.com/connectors/motion).
How is Weft different from Motion?
Weft is a Scrumban board, not a planner. It has the default columns Backlog, Todo, Doing and Done, optional sprints and projects. It has no built-in AI and sells no AI credits: the thinking happens in the AI client you already use, which works the board through 32 MCP tools.
The part that matters for agents is the claim loop:
- start_task claims a task with a 20-minute lease. report_progress renews it. If the agent goes quiet, the lease lapses and the task is free again. A second agent that tries the same task gets
already_claimedinstead of duplicating the work. - request_input asks you a question, with options when it is a choice. It reaches you in the Inbox and as a mobile push, and the agent keeps its claim while it waits.
- complete_task records the outcome, artifacts (links, hashes, anything you can check), what was not done, unknowns and a proposed next step.
- By default a finished task goes straight to Done. It stops in your Inbox for Accept, Rework, Later or Drop only when the task needs review or a verification check fails.
- An attention limit protects you: when 5 items wait on one person (10 for a team, or 45 minutes of review), start_task refuses with
attention_queue_fulluntil you catch up.
Each OAuth client or access token is its own actor, and the board shows the name the client registered with, so you can see whether ChatGPT or Claude Code did a thing. Each connection can be set to full, write or read access, and you can disconnect it at any time.
What Weft does not do: it does not schedule tasks into time slots, it does not block time on your calendar, and it has no AI of its own to plan your day. If that is the job, it is the wrong tool.
How do Weft and Motion compare side by side?
| Question | Weft | Motion (usemotion.com) |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | A Scrumban task board that AI clients work over MCP | An AI planner that schedules tasks into your calendar |
| Who does the thinking | Your own AI client (ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor, Codex…). Weft has no built-in AI and sells no AI credits | Motion's built-in AI, metered in credits: 7,500 per seat a month on Pro AI, 15,000 on Business AI |
| Official MCP server | Yes: https://letsweft.com/api/mcp, Streamable HTTP, 32 tools | None on usemotion.com, its help center or its API docs |
| Sign-in for an AI client | OAuth in the browser, no key to copy. Optional personal access tokens | REST API with an API key in an X-API-Key header |
| ChatGPT route | Published app in ChatGPT, every plan including Free | Not stated |
| Claude route | Custom connector on claude.ai and Claude Desktop. One command in Claude Code | Not stated. The "Motion" entry in Claude's directory is a different company (motionapp.com) |
| Claim and lease over MCP | start_task: 20-minute lease, renewed by report_progress; a second agent gets already_claimed | Not stated |
| Agent asks the person a question | request_input with options; reaches the Inbox and mobile push | Not stated |
| Evidence on completion | complete_task records outcome, artifacts, notDone, unknowns, nextStep | Not stated |
| Auto-scheduling into a calendar | No | Yes, the core feature; syncs with Google Calendar, Outlook and iCloud |
| API rate limit | Not a REST product; MCP only | 12 requests a minute for individuals; teams can request up to 120 |
| Mobile apps | iOS and Android | iOS and Android |
| Languages | 34 | Not stated |
| Free plan | Yes: 50 tasks and 200 AI calls a month | No free plan; a free trial, length not stated |
| Cheapest paid price | $7 per seat a month, or $60 per seat a year | Pro AI: $19 per seat a month billed yearly, $29 monthly (individual pricing: $29 yearly, $49 monthly) |
Motion facts: pricing, auto-scheduling, calendar integrations, API, rate limits, checked 3 November 2026. Mobile apps per Motion's pricing page ("iOS, Android, Desktop apps"). Weft facts: pricing and docs.
How do I connect my AI client to Weft?
The endpoint is https://letsweft.com/api/mcp (Streamable HTTP). Sign-in is OAuth, so there is no key to paste, and Weft issues refresh tokens, so the client renews the sign-in on its own. For clients without OAuth there are personal access tokens.
- ChatGPT: Weft is a published app in ChatGPT, on every plan including Free. Setup: letsweft.com/chatgpt.
- Claude (claude.ai and Claude Desktop): add Weft as a custom connector. It is not in Anthropic's directory.
- Claude Code:
claude mcp add --transport http weft https://letsweft.com/api/mcp, then sign in when the browser opens. Details: letsweft.com/claude-code. - Cursor: one-click install from letsweft.com/cursor.
- Codex: add Weft to the Codex config, then run
codex mcp login weft. See letsweft.com/codex.
There are 33 client setup pages in total. If you want to compare MCP task managers more broadly, see our MCP task manager comparison.
Which other Motion alternatives have an official MCP server?
If you want a personal task list or a full work platform rather than a board, two tools with official MCP servers are worth a look. These facts are from 27 October 2026.
| Tool | Official MCP | ChatGPT | Claude directory | Free plan | Cheapest paid |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Weft | Yes, OAuth | Published app, every plan | No (custom connector) | 50 tasks, 200 AI calls a month | $7/seat a month, $60/seat a year |
| Todoist | Yes, OAuth | Todoist app in ChatGPT | Yes | Beginner plan, MCP included | Pro $5 a month billed yearly, $7 monthly |
| ClickUp | Yes, OAuth only | ClickUp app in ChatGPT | Yes | Free Forever; MCP capped at 100 calls per 24 h per client | Core $9/user a month billed yearly |
| Motion | None found | Not stated | No (that entry is motionapp.com) | No, trial only | Pro AI $19/seat a month billed yearly |
Sources: Todoist MCP help, Todoist pricing, ClickUp MCP docs, ClickUp pricing. Our longer write-ups: Todoist alternative and ClickUp alternative.
How do I move from Motion to Weft?
Weft has no dedicated Motion importer, so the move goes through your AI client. It takes a few minutes for a normal task list.
- Create a Weft account and connect your AI client (see above). The Free plan holds 50 active tasks.
- Get your tasks out of Motion. If you have API access, your AI can read them with Motion's list tasks endpoint using your X-API-Key; otherwise copy the task list out of Motion.
- Paste the list into ChatGPT, Claude or Cursor and ask it to create the tasks in Weft. It uses bulk_create_tasks, which creates them in one all-or-nothing call.
- Ask the AI to sort them into Backlog and Todo, and into projects if you keep work and personal apart.
- Keep your calendar where it is. Meetings stay in Google Calendar or Outlook; Weft only tracks the work.
- Give the agent its first task and let it run the loop: start_task, report_progress, complete_task with evidence.
Coming from somewhere else as well? Weft imports Linear, Jira and Notion CSV and Trello JSON on every plan: from Linear, from Jira, from Notion, from Trello.
When should you stay on Motion?
Plainly: if the job is scheduling your time, Motion is the better tool. Stay on Motion if:
- You want tasks placed into free slots on your calendar automatically, and re-planned when a meeting moves. Weft does not do this at all.
- You do most of the work yourself and the hard part is fitting it into your week, not handing it to an agent.
- You want one AI inside your planner, with meetings, notes and docs in the same place, and you are happy to pay for its credits.
- Your team needs capacity planning, time tracking and dashboards, which Motion lists on Business AI.
- You do not use ChatGPT, Claude or Cursor for your work, so an MCP board has nothing to connect to.
Weft fits when your AI client already plans and does part of the work, and you need a board it can claim, update and close with evidence, while you only step in for decisions. A short head-to-head is also on letsweft.com/vs/motion, and if you came here from another tool, see the Linear and Asana alternatives.
Can I use Weft and Motion together?
Yes, as long as you keep their jobs apart. Motion can keep owning your calendar and your own tasks; Weft can hold the work your AI agents do, where claims and evidence matter. The two do not sync with each other, so do not keep the same task in both.
- Does Motion have an MCP server?
- Not an official one. On 3 November 2026 we found no MCP server on usemotion.com, its help center or its API docs. Motion offers a REST API with an X-API-Key header. Community MCP wrappers exist on third-party sites; Motion's pages do not mention them.
- Is the Motion connector in Claude the same Motion?
- No. The "Motion" entry in Claude's connector directory is made by Motion Creative Analytics (motionapp.com), a different company from Motion at usemotion.com.
- Will Weft schedule my tasks into my calendar like Motion does?
- No. Weft does not auto-schedule or block time. It is a task board that your AI client works over MCP. If calendar scheduling is what you need, Motion is the better choice.
- Does Weft have its own AI, so I pay for credits?
- No. Weft has no built-in AI and sells no AI credits. Your own ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor or Codex does the thinking. The Free plan includes 50 tasks and 200 AI calls a month; Pro is $7 per seat a month or $60 per seat a year (pricing).
- Does Motion have a free plan?
- No. Motion's pricing page offers a free trial ("Start your free trial. Risk free. Cancel anytime.") but does not state its length. The cheapest plan is Pro AI at $19 per seat a month billed yearly, or $29 monthly.
- Can two AI agents work the same Weft board without clashing?
- Yes. start_task gives one agent a 20-minute lease on a task; a second agent gets already_claimed. If the first agent goes quiet, the lease lapses and the task is free again. More in Multiple AI agents, one board.